Ruger LCP Custom

by SOTG

For several years now I’ve been carrying a Ruger LCP.  It’s been my primary carry gun, and its small size meant that I could carry it in my right front pocket.  While I don’t carry every single day, it is nice to be able to simply throw it in my pocket and know that I had some measure of protection.

As far as the holster is concerned, I’m a firm believer in the DeSantis Nemesis Super Fly.  It has a panel that prevents the pistol from printing in your pocket.  The sticky exterior makes the holster stay put during the draw.  While I like my Ruger LCP quite a bit, it didn’t have much in the way of sights, which made it more of a point and shoot weapon.  It also had an extremely long trigger pull.

For those reasons I decided to “upgrade” to the LCP Custom.  This has two primary advantages over the previous Ruger LCP models.  The first is an improved trigger with a much shorter (albeit still rather heavy) trigger pull.  The second advantage is that it actually has sights.  While this is still a pocket pistol, it does help to actually be able to aim it.

Here’s the old and new LCPs:IMG_1165.JPG

LCPs updated

The next step was to test out a few different kinds of ammo to make sure it would reliably feed them.

All of these are 6″ Shoot-N-C targets that were placed at seven yards.  They represent the first rounds I fired from the pistol, and I’ll admit the trigger takes some getting used to.  A better shooter would no doubt have gotten tighter groups.  But this proves that even a mediocre shooter can keep on target with the LCP Custom, even if they are firing somewhat rapidly.  I broke each shot as soon as the sights were aligned.

Here are the results.  Please note that this isn’t a deliberate test of accuracy.  But for what it’s worth, it seemed that the Hornady Critical Defense did the best for me.  Also, I had a couple malfunctions with the Remington Golden Sabre.  I believe this has to do with the shape of the hollow point bullet.

 

The most reliable seemed to be the Hornady Critical Defense.  This might have something to do with the shape of the bullet.  Normally, one would suspect the most reliable bullet design would mimic, as close as possible, the contours of a round ball projectile.  However, I believe the aggressive taper of the Hornady Critical Defense is even better.  As the round travels up the feed ramp, the taper of the bullet keeps it from dragging all the way up the ramp.  Instead, it is almost perfectly aligned with the chamber before it begins to feed.  Other bullets may make contact right at the top of the feed ramp, but I don’t believe the Hornady’s have that issue.  At any rate, they seem to feed very well in both of my LCPs.

While I recommend the LCP Custom, the sights do have one small drawback.  The DeSantis pocket holster does not fit the LCP Custom.  The rear sight will often catch on the top edge of the holster when attempting to draw the pistol.  A quick call to DeSantis confirmed that they do not make, nor do they recommend, any of their holsters for the LCP Custom.  In order to get around the issue, I cut away part of the holster so that it does not snag.  We’ll see how it works out.

DSS

Safe and happy shooting to you and yours,

SOTG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

