Sometimes You Just Get That Feeling

by Studentofthegun

Have you ever had an inexplicably good feeling about something that you couldn’t quite explain?  That’s what happened to me the day I picked up that M&P 15-22.  But that premonition wasn’t about the M&P 15-22.  It was about the CZ 455 Suppressor Ready .22LR that I looked at that day.

Granted, it is justified to feel good about any old CZ rifle.  But something told me that the one I was holding was a really good shooter.   Despite that, I put it right back on the shelf, did the paperwork on the 15-22, and went on my way.

A few weeks later, I finally got around to picking up that rifle.  Slapped the Mueller 8.5-25×44 on it with some Warne rings and ran a few patches through the bore.

cz455-2

The first day at the range I put about 30 round through it.  Took about 4 rounds to get it more or less zeroed and then shot a few groups.  This is at 50 yards in a light rain.

cz455-3

The next range trip, it wasn’t raining, but the wind was about 7-10 mph and intermittent.  Still, I managed to shoot all the ships without any misses.  This is also at 50 yards.

Battle2

This was shot using SK Standard Plus.  The only types of ammo I’ve tried are the Norma TAC and the aforementioned SK.  I think it did rather well.  It is also worth mentioning that I was also using a suppressor.  For these two sessions I elected to thread on the Apex-S by Innovative Arms.  I’m quite pleased with it and the trigger is such that I don’t think I’ll bother with the Yo Dave kit just yet.  Of the CZs I’ve owned and of those my friends have bought, this one had the best trigger right out of the box.  Since the rifle is shooting this well, I think I’ll just leave it alone.

For me, this also puts to rest one of the things I’ve often wondered about CZs.  A few years ago, when the 455s were first released, rumors swirled around the forums that the 455s weren’t as accurate as the 452s they replaced.  That does not seem to hold true based my own anecdotal experience.

Safe and Happy Shooting!

SOTG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

